40th MCM is third largest in event history

26 Oct 2015 | Marine Corps Marathon staff Defense Media Activity

The Marine Corps Marathon Sunday, Oct. 25 celebrated 23,194 runners to a successful finish at the 40th anniversary of the event. The MCM10K presented by Aetna enjoyed its largest participation and closest finish. The events were held simultaneously in Arlington, Va. and throughout the nation's capital. 

With his arm pointed toward the sky, U.S. Army Lt. Trevor Lafontaine won the 40th MCM breaking the finish tape in 2:24:25. Lafontaine, of Cornwall, N.Y., is a member of the U.S. Army Running Team. The 22-year-old said "it is awesome to be the Marine Corps Marathon Champion," after finishing ahead of Mexican runner Oscar Mateo Santos, 32, who completed the 26.2 mile course in 2:26:08. Brian Flynn, 32, of Rockingham, Va. claimed third in 2:26:54.  

Women MCM runners were led by Jenny Mendez Suanca, 35, of Costa Rica, who captured her win in 2:45:56. Marine Capt. Christine Taranto, 30, of Monterey, Calif. placed second completing the 26.2 mile course in 2:53:30, while Maria Elena Jimenez, 32, of Mexico enjoyed a third-place finish at 2:55:35. 

Starting across the Potomac in the nation's capital, the MCM10K resulted in closest finish between the top three males. Showing that seconds do count, hometown runner Jack Dasilva, 30, of Arlington, Va. took first place finishing in 34:01, just six seconds before Daniel Comite, 26, of Hilton Head Island, S.C. Comite finished the MCM10K in 34:07 - only one second before Derek Lactaoen, 26, of Seattle, who took third place in 34:08. The MCM10K celebrated its 10th year with its largest field of 7,777 runners. 

While there was a bit of rain in the early morning, MCM and MCM10K finishers, spectators and U.S. Marines cheered the MCM's beloved Groundpounders Al Richmond of Arlington, Va. and Will Brown of Raleigh, N.C., who both crossed the finish line in grand fashion on the U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial. The Groundpounders have completed 40 consecutive MCMs, logging a total of 1,048 miles a piece since the MCM began in 1976. 

The MCM also included 83 hand cycle and wheelchair participants including Anthony Serra, 41, of Boern, Texas, who won the division in 2:32:38 and Tammy Landeen, 38, of Milton, Fla., who led female participants at 1:58:01. Landeen also claimed the third-fastest finish among women hand cycle participants in MCM history.

Also a tradition within the Marine Corps Marathon is the Armed Forces Challenge, which includes elite runners from the Army, Navy, Air Force and Marine Corps Running Teams. This year, the Army won the challenge with MCM winner Lt. Trevor LaFontaine leading the team. Women U.S. Marines won the challenge with Capt. Christine Taranto leading her team. 

In addition, the U.S. Marines claimed victory over their running team counterparts of the Royal Navy/ Marines in the annual Challenge Cup Competition. 

All MCM and MCM10K results are unofficial but are available online at www.marinemarathon.com.

The Marine Corps Marathon is voted "Best Marathon" and "Best Marathon for Spectators." The MCM honors the dedication, sportsmanship and patriotism of its participants. Also known as "The People's Marathon," runners from all walks of life participate in the MCM, the largest marathon not to offer prize money. The 40th MCM, on October 25, 2015 in Arlington, Va., is sponsored by Arlington County, Brooks, GEICO and Hyundai. No federal or Marine Corps endorsement is implied. #RunWithTheMarines